Couch to 5K: Day 1

Shiny new shoes. Goal is for them to not look shiny new someday.

I have foolishly decided to embark on the Couch to 5K running program again. Partly because I have shit for brains and partly because my gym membership expired and with as much as I’ll be traveling this summer, I really won’t benefit from renewing. C25K Day 1 looked easy. Run for 60 seconds, walk for 90 seconds. Repeat for 20 minutes. Let’s do this! I laced up and walked the half mile to the middle school down the street. The school that is at the bottom of the hill.

Walking to the track: Alternate walking and running for 20 minutes; 8 intervals? Cake! I doubt I’ll break a sweat.

Interval 1: First 60 seconds down, that wasn’t too bad.

Interval 2: Whooo! Look at me go, this 20 minutes is going to fly by! Hey Tom Sawyer, I love this song…oh but it’s been tainted since that company love-in thing where we had to pick our theme song. Stupid!

Interval 3: 90 seconds already? I wonder if I set the stopwatch correctly this last time? I bet this thing isn’t even working. Why the hell won’t my ear buds stay in? This is annoying.

Interval 4: What the hell lungs? We quit smoking 2 years ago!* There is no way we’re going to make it another 10 minutes.

Interval 4: Oh! Xtina! I’ll never sound like her if I quit now. Must. Continue.

Interval 5: They’re going to find me dead on this track because I’m going to die of choking on my own lung.

Interval 6: Why the fuck is the Inspector Gadget theme song on my iPod?!

Interval 7: Running is bullshit. This C25K idea is bullshit. Fuck you stop watch it has not been 90 seconds yet.

Interval 8: Thank *gasp* god tha’ts*wheeze* over *gasp* Oh shit I have to walk up the stairs to get out of here. 34 stairs to be exact. Ow. Ow. Ow. Ow (repeat 30 times).

Walking home: I live on the wrong end of damn this hill. Screw you guy running past me, you’re running DOWN hill of course it looks effortless. I hate you, I hope you get bit by a dog.

Arriving home: I did it! Can’t wait to do it again Tuesday. This is going to be awesome.

  1. What time on Tuesday??? I will run with you. It is easier when you have someone to gossip with:)

  2. hahahahaha

    I feel your pain, really, I do. I’m up to running 6k.

    Usually when I want to go more than a couple of blocks I drive. It’s God’s will, he gave us the brains to invent cars, means we should use them.

  1. May 3rd, 2011

Leave a Reply

