Austin Day One

It is that time of year again! Spring brings rain, rain, more rain and my travel season!  Strap in folks! This is just the beginning.

The trip started with my alarm going off at 5:30 am. I think the next time I have to get up at 5:30 am I’m going to make some “accidental” pocket dials. That way you all get the full experience as it’s happening rather than these marginally entertaining recaps.

The PDX-OAK leg of this trip was uneventful; I began to wonder if I would have anything to share with you all. And then we landed in Las Vegas. I was the only passenger to stay on the plane and Oh. My. Hell.  did it get interesting at that point. First passenger on the plane had two purse dogs sans the purse. Remember I’m the ONLY person on the plane. Every seat but the one my ass was in was available. And yet, she asked if she could sit in my row. Why would she do that? I surprised even myself when I said I’d prefer if she didn’t and for the briefest of moments I felt like a total a-hole. Then I remembered I wasn’t the crazy that brought two lap dogs on a plane. She took it well and sat across the aisle. And to be fair the dogs never made a sound or even moved that I know of. But still!

For those in the audience that aren’t privy to my vacation history, I’ve never been to Vegas so I have never left Vegas to understand the state that one would be in. Um wow, just…I don’t…I don’t even know what to say about it. Is there some sort of city ordinance that states you cannot shower before you leave the city? Do they require you to leave smelling like you just got off a refugee boat? Do they confiscate your toothbrush? Is deodorant contraband? Help me understand this! Needless to say the LAS-AUS leg of the trip was the longest of my short life (hush). But when I landed all was forgotten because hello sunshine! Glorious, glorious sunshine. I won’t be horrible and tell you the temperatures that are expected this week. Go ahead and click the link if you’d like to torture yourself. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

I met my coworker at baggage claim and my boss picked us up curbside. We dropped our bags at the hotel and found food quickly. Here’s what I recommend you don’t do; Don’t decide 3 days before your trip to start the C25K program. And then certainly don’t stuff your face full of shrimp enchiladas knowing damn well you have to go do some interval running nonsense. Just sayin’.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

